In Flight Entertainment

In Flight Entertainment

After being on a total of 60 flights in less than 6 months, you could say I’ve logged a good number of hours on airplanes this year so far. In fact that may be the understatement of the century. So what do I do with my time in the sky?

Well, during the school year I do homework. Honestly, I save most of my schoolwork for the plane because I can get so much done. Most of my treks are back and forth from LA to Atlanta, a flight time of around 4 hours and 30 minutes heading East and 3 hours and 40 minutes heading West. That gives me lots of time to read textbooks, type essays, and write discussion posts.

Think about it- on the plane, there’s nothing to distract you. No friends to talk to, no cell service, no WiFi (unless you pay for it which I don’t); just you and yourself for however long the flight lasts. I am so focused on my work that I actually do a better job of it when I am flying versus when I’m sitting in my room in LA. Doing it at home is so last year, I may as well change the phrase to “planework”.

But I don’t just save this time for little assignments- I have done major projects, papers, and even exams on the airplane before (for this one I did indeed buy WiFi). One of my best stories is when I wrote a 10-page final essay from the business class cabin of an airplane heading to Paris. It was my final and biggest grade for the semester, a paper that I had yet to do so I saved it for the 8-hour plane ride. After finishing it about 3 hours into the flight, I bought WiFi for 30 minutes and turned that puppy in from 30,000 feet above the Atlantic Ocean.

So folks, the lesson here is: don’t ever give any excuses for late work, cause where there’s a will there’s a way.

Actually that’s not the point I was going for… really what I wanted to say was that you would be surprised how much you can accomplish from 30,000 feet if you put your mind to it.

*

Now that spring semester is over and summer break has begun, I can truly enjoy all of the entertainment that airplanes have to offer. There are a plethora of movie selections that rotate in, with new releases coming in at the first of every new month.

I have always felt guilty about using my time to watch TV or movies because it doesn’t feel productive to me. So in the summertime, I always try to watch classic movies on the airplane, movies that everyone and their mother has seen except me and it’s about darn time I do. This year I finally got to watching Titanic, Gone With The Wind, Citizen Kane, To Kill A Mockingbird, Dead Poets Society, Good Will Hunting, and The Usual Suspects- all thanks to the in-flight entertainment systems.

You know you fly a lot when you look through a page of 100 movie selections and can’t find a single one that you want to watch because you’ve seen most of them, have no desire to see the others, and about ¼ are foreign films. Whenever a new month comes along, I get extremely excited because I will finally be able to watch a movie that I actually have a desire in seeing and never had the chance to see in theatres. June is known as the month of weddings, so this month the planes have a slew of Rom-Coms about weddings: Bride Wars, Something Borrowed, 27 Dresses, and a new movie called Table 19 are just some of the options. It’s been hard to pace myself, let me tell you.

But alas, as we are now more than halfway through the month, I have watched about every new selection that appeals to me. I’ve watched Collateral Beauty, Before I Fall, Pretty in Pink, It’s Complicated, and La La Land.

What do you do when you have no desire to engage in a mindless activity but have about 2 hours left on the plane? You read.

I absolutely love reading. Yes, for enjoyment. I am so thankful that my mom raised me as a reader. Getting lost in a good book is one of the best feelings ever! Sadly, I don’t get to read for fun as often anymore because I am so busy with school and acting, but whenever I have free time, I’m so in.

I recently read Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed from cover to cover in less than 24 hours. I started the book whilst laying out on the beach, and then I read it non-stop on a 5 am flight from LAX to ATL, finishing the book as soon as I got home. It was glorious.

But if you aren’t a book person, magazines are great too! I love flipping through Vogue or People Style Watch. Just a warning though, magazine prices soar in airports. Last month I bought the June issue of Vogue at JFK for $6.50. Now that’s just robbery.

Another way to pass the time is simply to sleep it all away. However, for most people that’s actually not very simple at all because “sleeping on planes is so hard”. Not for this Fly Girl! (Check out my blog post titled “Let Me Sleep Among The Clouds” for more details)

But if you still don’t know how to pass your time in the sky, talk to the person next to you. Journal your thoughts. Go through old photos on your phone (and maybe even delete some to gain storage space!). Listen to music, maybe even go through your old playlists and gawk at how much your music taste has changed. Make friendship bracelets (that’s what my sister and I used to do when we were little. Imagine a 12 year old and a 7 year old taping threads of string to the tray table and braiding ankle bracelets together- so cute). Make a point to learn something new while you’re sitting there. Heck I learned how to tie my shoe on an airplane when I was in Kindergarten!

Whatever you decide to do, make the most of your time. Because you have a couple hours to let somebody else be the Pilot for a while. You can sit back and do anything you want! Maybe that’s simply getting a couple of hours for yourself to relax and enjoy a movie for once. Or to catch up on your sleep. Or to make a bucket list. Whatever it is, use your time wisely. Because not only are there many people in the world who would kill to have some spare time, but there’s a lot of people who have never even flown on a plane before.

Make the most of your time.

Enjoy the In Flight Entertainment.

-The Fly Girl

 

Leave a Reply

